Class Notes

If you would like your Class Note in a future issue of Maroon & White, please contact


  • In 1992 Ed Murray BA’57 and Doug Murray BA’55 brought a group of fellow alumni together for lunch. They called themselves “Retired Old Men Eating Out” or the “ROMEOs”. They still gather together 29 years later. This is a photo of their most recent get-together.

Front row: Tom Osborne BA’59, Frank Matthews BComm’54 and Jim Radford BComm’52 Back row: Bill Bailly BComm’56, Robin Falconer BA’58, Laurie Brean BA’54 BComm’55, Ed Murray BA’57 and Doug Murray BA’55.

Missing were Jim Trainor BA’57 and Jim O’Regan BComm’60 BEd’61 who sadly passed away in April 2021.


  • Leo McKenna BComm'82 was awarded the Fellow (FCPA), the Chartered Professional Accountants highest mark of distinction. This is an honorary designation awarded to Chartered Professional Accountants whose achievements in their careers or the community earn them distinction and bring honour to the profession.

“Fellows are nominated and elected by their peers in recognition of their outstanding achievements,” says Patti Towler, President and CEO of CPA Nova Scotia. “This year’s group reflects the exceptional level of integrity and professional dedication we have in Nova Scotia.”


  • J. Paul Cooper BA’87 has released an eBook, Hunting Teddy Bears. It’s a Space Opera novella. You can find out more by visiting


  • Alexander (Sandy) Falconer BA’90 BComm’90 was promoted to Senior Manager, Controller Finance and Admin CBC Atlantic Region. In the last few years, he has been coaching the Saint Mary’s Ringette team for which three of his daughters played.

  • Dana Bowden BA’90 recently became the Director of Victim Services with the Nova Scotia Department of Justice. Dana has been employed with the Justice Department for 22 years.

  • Congratulations to Brenda Hogan BComm'91, Chief Investment Officer with Ontario Capital Growth Corporation, for being appointed to the Board of Directors at Canadian Venture Capital (CVCA).


  • Suzanne Muir BA'93 BComm'93 is the first Nova Scotian to be inducted into the Canada Soccer Hall of Fame. Suzanne played with the SMU Huskies from 1989-1993 and was recognized with two AUS MVP awards, five-time AUS All-Star status and two-time All-Canadian honours. She went on to play for the Canadian national team in the 1995 and 1999 FIFA Women's World Cup and was inducted into the Saint Mary's University Sport Hall of Fame in 2014.


  • As a research associate in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of British Columbia and executive director of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation’s (APEC) Digital Hub for Mental Health, Dr. Jill Murphy MA'07 says in terms of mental health, there are very few guidelines to follow in the dissemination of mental health services using technology — especially during the pandemic.

“I am struck by the significant gap in access and availability to mental health services in much of the world, including in Canada — and especially for equity-seeking populations,” Dr. Murphy says. You can learn more about Dr. Murphy’s research. Harnessing digital mental health to improve equity in mental health care.

2008, 2011

  • Congratulations to Bradley Farquhar BComm'08 and Joseph Power BComm'11, Founders of Purple Cow Internet, which won New Business of the Year at the Halifax Chamber of Commerce Business Awards! This year, twelve Saint Mary's alumni and alumni-led businesses were nominated for Halifax Business Awards, well done to all! You can watch a recording of the awards ceremony here.


  • The Globe & Mail's Report on Business Magazine highlighted 50 entrepreneurial changemakers who are tackling some of Canada's biggest challenges. Josh Domingues BComm'13, Founder & CEO of Flashfood, was among them.


  • Owned and operated by Matt Wowchuk BA’16, Canadian company North Keg has been acquired by Keg Logistics, a leading keg leasing provider in the USA. Together, the companies will become the premier leader in the keg management sector supporting breweries, cideries, and specialty beverage customers across the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.